Skip to content

Aged Care Quality Standards – April 2019

In July 2018 the Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission introduced a new single set of Aged Care Quality Standards.

The new single aged care quality framework will replace the 4 sets of standards with a single set of standards for aged care.

The new standards will apply from 1 July 2019.

The new standards comprise of eight individual standards. The new standards will apply to all organisations providing residential care, Home Care, Commonwealth Home Support Programme and the National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Flexible Aged Care Program.

The new standards are:

  1. Consumer Dignity and Choice
  2. Ongoing Assessment and Planning with Consumers
  3. Personal Care and Clinical Care
  4. Services and Supports for Daily Living
  5. Organisations Service Environment
  6. Feedback and Complaints
  7. Human Resources
  8. Organisational Governance

The new aged care quality framework is intended to:

  • focus on quality outcomes for consumers (that’s you) rather than provide focus on systems and processes
  • Recognise the diversity of service providers and consumers
  • Assist consumers to choose aged care services through improved information about the quality of both residential and community aged care services

What the new Aged Care Quality Standards mean for you:

The Australian Government has set some new standards that clearly define what good care and services should look like.

The new standards make it easier to check that you the consumer receives good care and services.

These standards are not about ticking boxes but rather about meeting your needs and preferences.

Each standard is centred around Consumer outcome, in the form of a statement from a consumer’s point of view. For example, Standard 1 – Consumer Dignity and Choice Consumer outcomes states:I am treated with dignity and respect and can maintain my identity. I can make informed choices about my care and services and live the life I choose.”

The standard follows on with an Organisation statement that provides multiple statements to support the consumer outcome.

This is followed by multiple requirements that Aboriginal Community Services will comply with to produce the best outcome as per the Consumer outcome.

Aboriginal Community Services is currently working to implement the new standards into how we deliver services to you.

It doesn’t matter who you are, where you live, your life experience, identity, beliefs or culture. Every consumer who gets care and services has a right to be treated with dignity and respect, and to have their personal and clinical needs attended to.

We will continue to provide you with information and welcome your feedback. More information about the standards is available on the Department of Health website